GPS fields 24 fresh faces in Sarawak polls

By Daryll
Spread the love

KUCHING: Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) will field 82 candidates including 24 new faces in the upcoming 12th Sarawak State Election.

Out of the total number of candidates, 47 are from Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB), 19 from Sarawak United People’s Party (SUPP), 11 from Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS), and five from the Progressive Democratic Party (PDP).

According to reliable sources, from the total number of new faces contesting in the 25 seats, SUPP will be fielding the highest number with 12 new faces, followed by PBB with nine, and PRS and PDP with two each.

The announcement was made by GPS Chairman, Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg, at a press conference after the presentation of the candidacy appointment letters to the candidates at the PBB Headquarters, Jalan Bako, here.

Abang Johari confirmed that he will be contesting at Gedong, thus vacating the Satok seat for a new face, Dato Ibrahim Baki, to represent.

He also announced that PDP president Dato Sri Tiong King Sing will contest at Dudong.

“For this 12th State Election, GPS will field 24 new faces aged in their thirties and forties,” Abang Johari said

“They are all knowledgeable and should be able to do their jobs well as the people’s representatives.”

He added that these new faces can be trained to become credible leaders that will look after the wellbeing of the various races. religions and cultures.

“This is politics ‘ala Sarawak’ and in this political landscape, only Sarawakians know how to take care of Sarawak, and our struggles are now based on the new economy, namely the digital economy, and environmental sustainability,” he said.

The new faces put forward by GPS for the upcoming election are Billy Sujang who will contest at Opar, Azizul Annuar Adenan (Tanjong Datu), Dato Ibrahim Baki (Satok), Dato Wee Hong Seng (Padungan), Yap Yau Sin (Kota Sentosa), Datuk Hamzah Ibrahim (Stakan), Dr Simon Sinang Bada (Tebedu), Dayang Noorazah Awang Sohor (Lingga), Desmond Sateng Sanjan (Engkilili), Mohammad Duri (Kalaka), Friday Belik (Krian), Anyi Jana (Ngemah) dan Chieng Jin Ek (Bukit Assek).

The others are Dato Sri Tiong King Sing (Dudong), Michael Tiang Ming Tee (Pelawan), Lidam Assan (Katibas), Nicholas Kudi Jantai Maseng (Baleh), Pang Leong Ming (Tanjong Batu) and Adam Yii Siew Sang (Pujut).

The Election Commission has fixed December 6 as the nomination day, with early voting and polling day on December 14 and 18 respectively. – TVS.

Join our Telegram channel to get our news Alerts and highlights

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Log In

Forgot password?

Forgot password?

Enter your account data and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Your password reset link appears to be invalid or expired.

Log in

Privacy Policy

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.

Karuna Web Design